Call for inspiring teachers of science

Each year the Australian Government honours Australia’s best science teachers along with scientists and innovators, through the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science.

There are two $50,000 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Excellence in Science Teachingprimary and secondary—awarded to teachers who are dedicated to effective and innovative science teaching.

Other prizes include

  • $250,000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science
  • $250,000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation
  • $50,000 Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year
  • $50,000 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year
  • $50,000 Prize for New Innovators.

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner in the Great Hall of Parliament House, Canberra, where the leaders of science, industry, education and government will have the chance to meet the recipients.

Nominations close at 5 pm Canberra time, Wednesday 12 April 2017.

It’s simple to nominate in the first (shortlisting) stage, with an online form. If a nomination is shortlisted, further material will be required in the final stage.

For eligibility, selection criteria, nomination guidelines and forms, visit: or call 13 28 46.

To read more about past recipients and the awards dinner visit: